High Risk Of Earthquake Zones In India

india earthquake zones

india earthquake zones

Earthquake zones in India are a result of the activity of tectonic and geological processes that is in a occurrence of deformation of the rocks in the earth’s crust that caused some serious intensity of earthquakes. Earthquakes occur suddenly due movements of crust in the underground called the fault. Therefore, earthquakes can not be predicted. In India, there are areas of fault that includes the cities highly vulnerable to earthquakes. Many cities that are considered highly vulnerable to earthquakes can be classified into 4 earthquake zones.

The highest zone is the zone 5, which is very severe intensity zone that is around Kashmir, Guwahati, the central and western of Himalayan region, northern and central Bihar and eastern India. Then the second zone is zone 4 which is dangerous zone that are severe intensity in the capital, namely Delhi, India, Jammu and Kashmir. The location which is near the border with India and Nepal lies in this zone. The next earthquake zone is zone 3 such as Andaman and Nicobar Islands, some parts of Kashmir and the western part of Kashmir that is included in the dangerous zone. The next zone is low dangerous zone that is zone 2.

Locations included in the zones are vulnerable to earthquakes. They are in urban areas and small towns in India. According to geologists, half to 60 percent of India is prone to earthquakes.

The local local government has issued a regional cities and towns that are considered being layout which is prone to large earthquake zone in India. There are a total of 107 towns or villages that is deemed to be earthquake prone areas. Since 2002, only several cities were included in the most danger zone of intensity or the highest seismic risk zone. Currently there are additions to the 4 zones. Kmota is Sadiya, Manipur, Gujarat, Assam and Jorhat.

Surrounding Earthquake Zones that Caused Serious Earthquakes

During the great earthquake rocked Nepal in April 2015, many locations in India felt the quake. The incident also caused 102 people died and damaged 13,000 homes.

An earthquake in this century, the most serious one was the earthquake in 2001 which killed an estimated 20,000 casualties. Earthquake in 2004 that caused 230,000 deaths in 14 nations. This earthquake was caused by the movement of the Indian plate slipped underneath Burma plate located under Andaman and Nicobar islands.

Other than that, a deadly tsunami occurred because of the 100 kilometer rupture of earth’s seabed, resulting in tide of ocean water which was tsunami that vanished approximately 230,000 people located in about 14 nations. Other than that of the previous century, an important event in 1934 was the earthquake in Bihar and the earthquake in Assam in 1950. By geology experts, earthquake in Assam in 1950 may lead to a new round of very large earthquakes in the Himalayas.

Northern and eastern regions of India can be classified into zone five, which is the very high intensity zone. There are many areas in India that became panicked because the higher the frequency of frequent earthquakes. Some geology experts always be aware of the importance of action to be taken by the government in earthquake zones in India. There are several steps that need to be adopted, namely constructing buildings resistant to earthquake.

About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Facebook Likes